The Roman Catholic Church doesn’t seem to be concerned about Christians suffering from celiac disease, as it has just forbidden the use of gluten-free bread during Holy Communion. However, the bread can still contain genetically modified substances.
The bread for Communion should be pure
Communion is a holy ritual, and it shouldn’t be stained with impure bread. It seems that gluten-free bread is not holy enough, since the Roman Catholic Church ruled out its use during the celebration of the Eucharist.
Cardinal Robert Sarah, prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Sacraments, has recently released a letter to all bishops, where they were informed of this new regulation of the church. The bread used for Holy Communion can still contain low levels of gluten, but it shouldn’t be produced with any additives. This is why it needs enough proteins.
Until recently, the bread for the Eucharist was baked by certain religious communities. They were also responsible with producing the wine for the same ritual. Now, you can find them in supermarkets, as well as purchase them from all over the internet.
It needs to be made of wheat, and not other grains
This is why it is more important to pay attention at the composition of the holy bread. It must contain pure wheat, no yeast, and shouldn’t decompose. Therefore, even if the bread is made of grain, it shouldn’t be mixed with other substances, since it has to be made up mostly of wheat. The ruling applies to wine as well. It has to be natural, pure, made mostly of grapes and, of course, shouldn’t be mixed with other chemicals and substances.
You shouldn’t find it odd that the bread and wine for Communion should be pure. However, this might be dangerous for people who cannot eat gluten, for example those suffering from celiac disease.
Image Source: Wikimedia Commons